menu

Ohio Appalachian Educational Opportunity Centers

The Shawnee State University Educational Opportunity Centers (EOC) is a federally funded TRiO program designed to provide specific activities and services to qualified students.

The Educational Opportunity Centers program provides counseling and information on college admissions to qualified adults who want to enter or continue a program of postsecondary education. The program also provides services to improve the financial and economic literacy of participants.

The goal of the EOC program is to increase the number of adult participants who enroll in postsecondary education institutions.

Request Assistance

EOC Can Help You:

female student smiling on campus
  • With Career Counseling by exploring career options
  • With Academic Advising, including choosing a college or vocational school
  • Complete admissions applications
  • Understand Finacial Aid options by assistance in completing the Federal Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA) and assist you in finding scholarships, grants, and loans
  • Learn time management skills and college survival skills to help you succeed

Eligible Participants Must Be:

  • Age 19 or older
  • Live in one of the 32 counties in Ohio designated Appalachian

Must Meet One of the Following:

  • Be first-generation college student
  • Meet taxable income guidelines

Veterans Services:

male student smiling on campus

In addition to basic EOC offerings, we are able to help you research schools and programs that best fit your needs and help with the G.I. Bill selection (post 9/11, MGIB, MGIB-SR)and application process. We can also assist Military Families with education needs.

 

Request Assistance

If you are a U.S. Citizen or Legal Alien, live in the Ohio Appalachia area, low income below 150% poverty level, over 19 years of age, and/or are the first in your immediate family to participate in post-secondary or higher education you may qualify for EOC Services.

Please fill out contact information below and someone will contact you shortly.

TRiO logo

Educational Opportunity Centers is provided by the US Department of Education

The OAEOC provides equal educational opportunities services regardless of sex, age, parental status, race, color, religion, sexual orientation, national origin, or disability as required under Title VI, VII, IX, and Section 504.

Contact EOC

Director

Kenneth R. Cornwell
Shawnee State University
kcornwell@shawnee.edu

Assistant Director

Larry Ewing
Rio Grande CC
lewing@rio.edu

Administrative Assistant

Krista Sloas
Shawnee State University
(740) 351-3027
ksloas@shawnee.edu

Mid-East Career & Tech Center

Scott Meredith
smeredith@shawnee.edu

Shawnee State University

Bennie Blevins
bblevins@shawnee.edu

Southern State CC

Tracy Rice
trice@shawnee.edu

Ohio University - Southern

Teresa McKenzie
tmckenzie@shawnee.ed

Morgan County Learning Center

Tony Mayle
amayle@shawnee.edu

Pike County CTC

Jerilynn Bapst
Jjbapst90@gmail.com

Southern State Community College

Aaron Davis
adavis@sscc.edu

Jacob Bice
Jbice2@sscc.edu

Central Ohio Technical College Coshocton Campus

Carol Bichsel
cbichsel@shawnee.edu

James Wilson
jwilson@shawnee.edu

David Pennington
dpennington@shawnee.edu