RESOLUTION E04-21

HONORING THE SSU MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM

WHEREAS, Shawnee State University proudly supports extracurricular sports opportunities for all of its students, including varsity team competition in the Mid-South Conference (MSC) and the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA); and

WHEREAS, the University is proud of the accomplishments of all of its student athletes both in the classroom and on the field of play, especially during a year of unprecedented challenge due to the coronavirus pandemic; and

WHEREAS, members of the Shawnee State University Men's Basketball Team, including its student-athletes, coaches, trainers, support staff, and volunteers, represented the institution and the region with distinction by exhibiting the highest caliber of competitive play, admirable teamwork and dedication, and commitment to excellence; and

WHEREAS, the Shawnee State University Men's Basketball Team ended the 2020-2021 season having: won the most games in school history, won the most consecutive games in school history, won the school's first Mid-South Conference Regular Season Title, won the school's first Mid-South Conference Tournament Title, and won the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Men's Basketball National Championship;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Trustees of Shawnee State University recognizes the Shawnee State University Men's Basketball Team for winning the NAIA national championship and extends its sincere congratulations and appreciation to team members Amier Gilmore, Kobie Johnson, James Jones, Jakiel Wells, Tre Beard, Bailey Davis, Desmond Crosby, Jr., Issac Abergut, Shawn Paris, Jr., Corie Blount, Jr., Miles Thomas, Latavious Mitchell, Donoven Carlisle, Markus Geldenhuys, and EJ Onu; and Head Coach Delano Thomas, Assistant Coaches Lindal Yarbrough, Jack Trainer, D'Andre Price, Zack Kelly, and Justin Patrick; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of Trustees of Shawnee State University grants special recognition: to Head Coach Delano Thomas for being named both the Mid-South Conference Coach of the Year and the NAIA Coach of the Year; to EJ Onu for being named the Mid-South Conference Player of the Year and an NAIA First-team All-American; and to James Jones for being named the NAIA National Tournament Most Valuable Player and an NAIA Second-Team All-American.