IRB Members

The Chair and Members of the IRB are listed below based on their representation of SSU.  Please feel free to contact the Chair of the IRB with any general questions about the IRB and/or the application process.


Edward Kehres, Ph.D., OTR/L
Chair, scientific
Assistant Professor
Department of Rehabilitation and Sports Studies (OT)


  • Brian Richards – non-scientific
  • Beverly Sande – scientific
  • Tim Hamilton – non-scientific
  • Barb Conn – scientific
  • Marc Scott – non-scientific
  • Rory Phillips – community member

General Counsel:

Cheryl Hacker, J. D.
Advisor to the IRB and non-voting member


Institutional Review Board

Contact Information

Deborah Howell
Executive Secretary
Office of the Provost

Administration Bldg. 015
940 Second Street
Portsmouth, OH 45662

Page maintained by Marketing and Communications.